Campaign Leaders

The work ahead was possible with philanthropic support from a broad group of committed, passionate citizens who love and respect Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad and all that it adds to the Cuyahoga Valley National Park and region.

More than $4.0 million has been raised to date from generous donors and the CVSR's own reserves. An amazing group of leadership donors joined the campaign and committed themselves to the fundraising effort.


Fred Clarke
CVSR Trustee, Founder and President of FWC LLC Consulting Services

Russ Warren
CVSR Trustee, Managing Director of EdgePoint

Honorary Chairs

Siegfried Buerling (Deceased)
Founder of Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad

Sam Hartwell
CVSR Trustee, Principal of Austin Capital Partners

Sandra Haslinger
President of the Sandra L. and Dennis B. Haslinger Family Foundation, Inc.

Chuck Jones
Former President and Chief Executive Officer of FirstEnergy Corp.

Committee Members

Nancy Brennan
Vice President of Brennan Management Group, President and Co-founder Akron Soul Train

Peter Buerling
CVSR Trustee, Director of Records & Information Compliance at FirstEnergy Corp.

Doug Cooper
Former President and CEO, CVSR

Jon Elsasser
Former CVSR Trustee, Retired Chief Information Officer, Timken

Joey Glassco
CVSR Trustee, Global Market Manager at Lubrizol LifeSciences, Lubrizol Advanced Materials, Inc.

Deb Gordon
CVSR Trustee, President of Gordon Strategy Group

Ray Labuda
CVSR Trustee, Retired Vice President, Hankook Tire Co. Ltd.

John Scheatzle
Former CVSR Trustee, President NobelClad

Myron Vernis
CVSR Trustee, Retired GM of Glenmoor Country Club